(re)demption

I got a “re-do” with part of my life it was in a strange way and kinda in a backwards way but I got to get a re-do by the grace of God. I never truly knew the meaning of redemption until now. Do y’all know the definition of redemption? If you don’t this is what it means… “the action of saving or being saved from sin, error, or evil.” Another word that pops into my mind is recovery. I feel like this past year, all that happened, all that I learned, all that I seeked is my redemption story or in other words my recovery story.

What is something that you think of when you think of recovery? The first thing that I think of is a mental hospital for some reason, I’m not entirely sure why. The meaning of hospital is “an institution providing medical and surgical treatment and nursing care for sick or injured people.” Nursing care is what really stood out to me. Jesus looks at you as one of his patients. I know that I have been talking a lot about healing but this is just the season that I am in currently and it’s so good to be in. The past five months have been my redemption story and I know that for certain. I honestly hate the saying “time heals all wounds” I don’t think that is true… at all. Yes, time helps you forget and move on but all that pain and hurt is still stored in your heart until you know how to keep it below your feet. How you continue to walk along the same path knowing that Jesus healed you from your past and your past hurts. Your OWN personal redemption story is never over.

So, what I usually say is “time doesn’t heal but, Jesus heals” I can’t express to you how true that is. You can never fix your hurts nor your problems until you give them away and let it go and ask him to heal you. Healing is such a strong, powerful word to me. Do you struggle with healing? Do you struggle with how to deal with your burdens or give them away? Check out these verses and awesome sermon, down below!

-1 Corinthians 1:30 

“But by His doing you are in Christ Jesus, who became to us wisdom from God, and righteousness and sanctification, and redemption.”

-Ephesians 1:7 

“In Him we have redemption through His blood, the forgiveness of our trespasses, according to the riches of His grace.”

-Colossions 3:13 

“13 Bear with each other and forgive one another if any of you has a grievance against someone. Forgive as the Lord forgave you.”
 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=syPL8TvtT8Q 

Leave a comment